Chaparral Golf


2017-2018 Chaparral Golf Team


Golf Wins NJCAA National Championship in 2008

       In their 28th consecutive appearance in the NJCAA National Tournament, the Chap Golf team won their fourth National Championship. During this 28 year period, the Chaps have been second four times and third five times, and have finished 6th or better in this event seventeen times. This consistency has produced 49 All- Americans, six runner-up medalists, and one National Medalist Champion, David Thomas in 2008. National Medalist runner-ups have been Dean Robertson and Andrew Coltart (Ryder Cup) of the European Tour, Grant Thomson, Ernie Rose, Derrick Pursley. All of these players but Thomson have played on the various pro tours around the world.

        The 2008 team was led by National Medalist and First Team All-American David Thomas, First Team All-American Patrick Solberg, Midland City Champion Tommy Sikes, Heinrich Frylinck and Daniel Shevill. The Chaps played great, steady golf the four rounds of the 72 hole event. The team focus and unity was terrific. The four freshmen were joined by Solberg and performed like veterans.


web golf